Shared Call Appearance (Sharing)

Home | Administrator Central | Administrator Guides | Shared Call Appearance (Sharing)

What you need to know:

The Sharing Feature, also known as Shared Line Appearance, is used for two main purposes: Configure sharing on your Physical Phone and Soft Client Use.

Introduction

The Sharing Feature, also known as Shared Line Appearance, is used for two main purposes: 

  1. Configure sharing on your Physical Phone: This will enable users to receive calls placed to another user’s Extension (from their own phone), to place calls from another user’s Extension (from their own phone), and to see the status of that extension from the Line Key on their own phone.

An example of this is an Executive Assistant who wants to be able to make and receive calls from the boss’s line.

Click image for large view

 

  1. Soft Client Use: To enable Users to download and use the UC-One for Desktop and/or the UC-One for Mobile Applications.

 

This article will provide instructions for setting up sharing services on physical phones as well as the UC-One applications.


Configuring sharing on your physical phone (VoIP desk phone)

  1. Login to the My Account.
  2. Click the My Site tab.
  3. Select a site from the list on the left.
  4. Click the Share a Line quick link.

Click image for large view
  1. Click the user (anywhere in the row) that you would like to share out. Example:  If Tyler wants to be able to place and receive calls from Justin’s line, you would select Justin’s phone number.
  2. Click Edit.

Click image for large view
  1. The system will display all of the devices on that site to which the number can be shared.
  2. Select the endpoint type “Physical Phone”.
  3. Check the “Shared” Checkbox for each row to which you want sharing to be applied, and then select “Save”.

Optionally, you can enable or disable the following functionality for shared lines:

  • Alert all appearances for Click-to-Dial Calls,
  • Alert all appearances for Group Paging Calls, and
  • Enable Call Park Notification.

 

Lastly, you will need to reboot the shared device or the Shared Line will not show. You can use Device Management to do that, or have the User power-cycle/reboot the phone.


Setting up sharing for Soft Client use

To allow a user to download and use the UC-One applications (Desktop, Mobile and Tablet), first set up Sharing to their Soft Clients.

  1. Login to the My Account.
  2. Click the My Site.
  3. Select a site from the list on the left.
  4. Click the Share a Line quick link.
  5. Click the user (anywhere in the row) that you would like to set up.
  6. Click Edit.

Click image for large view
  1. Select the endpoint type “Soft Client”.
  2. Check the “Shared” Checkbox for the UC One applications.
  3. Click Save.

Note:  Once the Soft Clients have been shared, the user will see them in Mobile App and Desktop Softphone area of the My Phone portal.  The User’s ID will be displayed from My Phone, and the Password is the same Password used to log in to My Phone.

Maximum Number of Shares for Premium Stations:  35

Maximum Number of Shares for Standard Stations:  5